52 Cupcakes-in-a-Jar Project Jar #2 – Coconut Vanilla Cupcake with Blackberry filling and Marshmallow Frosting

Standard

I know…I know, this CIAJ is a mouthful. 

I tried to come up with a shorter name, but nothing seemed to work.

There were several things I would do differently with this experiment, but overall the taste combination is delicious.

#1 – The inspiration recipe I used said to use a boxed mix.  I would use a scratch recipe next time.  It needed a more dense cake. 

#2 – I would have used bigger jars or just put one layer of cake and frosting in the smaller jar.  After reviews from my taste testers, they loved the smaller jars.  Looks like it will be one layer of cake in the future.

#3 – Next time I may scrap the filling and rough chop the blackberries and add them to the batter.  I may also leave the coconut out of the filling and just sprinkle the toasted coconut on the top.  Maybe I will add a little coconut extract to the batter with the berries to meld all the flavors.

#4 – I would beat the living tar out of the Marshmallow Frosting.  I thought I beat it enough, but in hindsight I would probably beat it another 5-10 minutes depending on what it looks like.  Have no fear though…this is a frosting I will make again and again and again.  🙂

Here’s the What’s Up with the Recipe

Bake your favorite from scratch white cake and add the following:

2  tsp vanilla bean paste

3/4 c. shredded coconut

Bake in a 11×17 jelly roll pan so it can be cut into circles for the jars.  Let cool before cutting.

Blackberry Filling

1 pint fresh blackberries, cut in half

1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. water

1/2 c. coconut

Add blackberries, sugar and water to a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil over medium heat.  Cook together until sugar is dissolves and mixtures is slightly thickened.  Take off the heat and stir in coconut.  Set aside until ready to assemble cupcakes.

Marhsmallow Frosting

Beat together until very very frothy:

2 egg whites 

 1/4 tsp salt

Slowly add and beat until very smooth, thick and glossy:

1/4 c. white sugar

Slowly add and beat until stiff, stiff peaks form:

3/4 c. karo syrup

Gently fold in:

1 tsp vanilla extract

I have to give credit where credit is due and I completely stole inspiration from the blog Get Off Your Butt and Bake.  Now Jonna changed the address of her blog and I can’t find the original inspiration recipe, but I did find you step by step directions on the Marshmallow Frosting.  Plus she has some awesome stuff going on over there so go check her out. 

Did I mention that I’m a little happy the original recipe disappeared because her cupcakes were far prettier than mine.  Maybe that’s why I’m a little disappointed in the final product.  Better luck next time.

Happy Tuesday!

 

4 responses »

    • I did forget to note the toasted coconut on top. That is a very important part. Also, definitely take into consideration my notes. It will be a much better final product.

    • Thanks, Jonna! I did come across the link as I was obsessing over your other recipes and did a post to let everyone know. It was my most popular post in a long time…so thank you! I truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on my fledgling blog!

Leave a Reply

