Tangerines, Limes and Stuff….

Standard

You may have noticed a tangerine trend lately. 

That is because I bought a bag of tangerines and they don’t seem to be disappearing from my refrigerator. 

So I have been forced to bake with them. 

 It has been a real trial.  Frankly I’m dog gone tired of it. 🙂

 

Here is my latest Love Child between me and my tangerines:

I completely ripped of the Lemon Bar recipe.  Sorry…little lemons!

And if having an affair with the tangerines wasn’t enough, I had to make out with a lime right after.

I understand Lemon if we can no longer be married.

I’ve been cheating on you with limes for years now anyway….sucka!!

I digress…time for the recipe:

Tangerine Lime Bars

1 c. (2 sticks) butter

1/2 c. powdered sugar

2 c. flour

1 tsp. vanilla bean paste or vanilla extract

 

4 eggs

1 1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. flour

2 tangerines, juiced

1 lime, juiced

zest of 1 tangerine

zest of half a lime

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mix together butter, flour, vanilla and powdered sugar.  Press into a 9×13 pan.

3. Bake for 15-20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until firm and golden brown.  In another bowl, whisk together the sugar, and flour.  Whisk in the eggs and the tangerine and lime juice.  Add zest.  Pour over the baked crust.

4. Bake for an additional 20 minutes.  The bars will firm up as they cool. 

 

 

I put mine in the refrigerator to speed up the process, because I’m impatient like that.

I also save all the corner pieces for myself because I love them the best and am selfish like that.

I never said I was free of character flaws…

Happy Thursday, My Peeps!!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

