want list…

Standard

My family moved for my husband’s job just about a year ago and a year before that and….you get the picture.  However, we are finally in a place we get to call home for a long time (crossing my fingers).  My husband rented a house for us while I was finishing up my job in our old town.  The first time I saw the house, we were moving in.  I’ve joked with my husband since we first started dating that I will have tile in my whole house because I hate…hate…hate carpet with animals!  I don’t like stained carpet…YUCK!  So I walk into this new home of ours and guess what?  It is wall-to-wall carpeting – yes I have carpet in my bathrooms!@!@?#?! Who does that? Not only is it everywhere, but my entire upstairs is WHITE carpet.  Have I mentioned I have 3 dogs and a husband and a child who despite their many wonderful attributes are still slobs!? Did I mention that I hate cleaning?!  I am pathetic I know…I need a maid.

Fast forward to December and even though I swore I would not buy a house with wall-to-wall carpeting we did just that.  The advantage of not having to move for the 5th time in 2 years was just too much for me.  I couldn’t fight the carpet battle.  Did I mention well-aged people lived here prior to us? There is all kinds of lovely wallpaper, cream-colored appliances and a hideous faux brick fireplace.  The size is amazing though and the price was right.

With all that being said I decided I needed to prioritize what I want to do with our new home!

Here is my list:

  1. Laminate Flooring Upstairs – with 3 dogs this a better option than hardwood for durability purposes
  2. Hang sheet rock in place of paneling/remodel faux brick fireplace – this would not normally be #2, and probably will go to #1 just so the floors can go in!
  3. Tile the kitchen
  4. New Dishwasher – I have a 13-yr old one, but she never gets the dishes clean and neither does the actual appliance in my kitchen!
  5. Sew curtains for the bay window
  6. Paint the spare bedroom and decorate in shades of Black/White with pops of color
  7. Complete my sewing room
  8. Remodel bathrooms
  9. Paint my kitchen
  10. Remodel dining room to include taking down wallpaper and finding dining chairs to go with the antique dining table my parents want to give me.

So if I completed one of those each year it would only take me 10 years to get the upstairs of my house the way I kinda want it.  Some of those won’t take that long so I’m hoping I will be able to do it in less than that, but time, money and workforce are all required for my plan to come together.  I will keep you all posted on my progress.

Happy List Making!!

Leave a Reply

