disgruntled youth…

Standard

As some of you know, I haven’t been feeling well this week.  This has been an unexpected reward for my darling daughter who has been able to sleep late and do what she wanted to for the most part.  Except Momma’s feeling better this morning and her eyes have not liked what they have encountered already.  As a consequence my little angel is up bright and early at 7:15am on a summer day to WORK.  For those parents of teenagers I know you understand the “cleaning the bedroom” responsibility.  I ignored the state of chaos my darlings bedroom was in for the last week of school, deciding we would complete spring cleaning the first week off.  I did not know it was humanly possible to work as slowly as this child has worked.  Did I mention that her room is not big? Or that I could have accomplished cleaning her room in a day? Anyhoo…the icing on my cake this morning was the laundry.

Laundry has a long, truly dysfunctional story in my family.  See…I was just like my daughter growing up.  Not a little bit, but exactly.  I was the kid who refused to put her laundry into the laundry room to be washed. My dad once found 21 towels in my dirty clothes pile.  As a matter of fact…when my dad asked me if I had towels in my laundry I took out a few and put them in the laundry room to satisfy him.  He’s a smart guy though and he went into my room and looked for himself…hence the 21 other towels.  So when my mom was frustrated and told me she hoped I had a kid just like myself one day…she got what she wished for.  I try to keep this fact into perspective when I deal with my own child, but seriously why is it so easy for children to make our lives so much more difficult? For instance, my whole morning started of annoyed because when my daughter needed a laundry basket for her clothes she decided to dump the clean folded laundry of mine onto the floor so she could use the basket.  See…makes my life harder.  I hate laundry and I certainly don’t want to do it twice. Grrrrr!  Bless her heart, she didn’t remember doing this, which equals “I am not responsible for this behavior”.  Sigh….! Now my rant is dying down and I have to actually get some things accomplished today.  Funny how much more motivated you are when you start feeling better.  I love my child more than anything, but this parenting thing is not always what I want it to be.  I want it to be easy and smooth and uncomplicated.  I want to actually see that those morals and values I keep trying to instill are actually growing in her.  However, just when I lose hope and begin thinking I have absolutely failed as a mother my darling does something to amaze me with her kindness and responsibility.

Thank you God for knitting this little beauty in my womb and for hearing my prayers for her.  I trust your plan for her is greater than what my human mind can comprehend.  Please help me to guard my thoughts, words and deeds today so I do not wound her precious heart.  Amen!

 

 

 

Happy Friday!!

Leave a Reply

