shaking my head…

Standard

So last night was the finale for American Idol as most of you know.  My husband and I always DVR it and watch it without the commercials.  So last night we are working our way through it when I hear Scotty sing with Tim McGraw.  I have to call my mom and see if she is watching it (yep forgot it was on DVR).  She got home late and didn’t see the song so my husband rewinds and we play it for her over the phone.  She oohs and aahs with me and we discuss the normal who’s gonna win stuff, but I tell her I don’t wanna know who is singing later.  We hang up and my husband and I resume the finale after a few more encore watches of Tim and Scotty.  Did anyone else notice the massive, gorgeous shoulders on Tim McGraw? Anyhow…I digress!  9:07pm rolls around and my phone rings.  I say hello and my mom responds with “I called it!”  This is where you add the shaking of my head into the situation.  She suddenly remembers that I’m watching it on DVR and I haven’t gotten to the end yet.  This is where it got really amusing for me because I really didn’t care who won, but it was enjoyable to hear her feel like a total jerk for ruining it for me.  She did feel really bad…too cute she was!  She politely hung up and waited until almost 10pm before calling me back and asking if I had finished watching it yet.  She is a funny lady and the humor didn’t stop there.

Her best friend’s birthday is today! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, TERESA! A little back ground on mom – she is wicked smart when it comes to numbers, organization and administrative aspects of the world.  She pays all her bills before the due dates, knows where every item of food is in every cupboard, shelf of the refrigerator/freezer, has 52 cans of ready-made frosting in her cupboard because it was on sale.  Don’t even get me started on the butter spray.  She is a great cook and inspired my love for baking.  She has two daughters and we are the kind of woman who enjoy creative, crafty things far more than remembering to pay our bills on time.  Funny how those things turn out.  We have all learned to love each other for our strengths and encourage each other in our weaknesses, but not before teasing each other mercifully about them.  So last night when my mom told me I would be proud of her I figured she attempted something creative.  She starts telling me about the “food tower” she created for her friend.  She made potato chip cookies (which I have heard are fantastic, but I have not tried) and that was the bottom layer.  Then she asks me if I’ve ever tried the mini cucumbers from Walmart? I’m thinking, huh? How did we go from cookies to cucumbers? Then she tells me about the next layer of her food tower is cucumber salad.  Then it had toffee bar and banana bread on top.  How in the world did my mom come up with cucumbers in that whole scheme of food?  I think she may have told me the significance, but I was probably still distracted by the fact there was cucumbers in a tower of deliciousness.  There was some talk about ribbon and some ribbon after that…I think I was trying to picture it all in my head by then and probably lost track of time and space.  She added the recipes with some pretty clever little notes and then talked of putting it all in a gift bag – I swear I thought that’s what the ribbon was for, but who knows.  So finally at 10:45pm I ask her if she took her meds today…hahahaha…because it was late and it didn’t look like her string was going to run out anytime soon.  She was excited about her project and I went to bed smiling because of it.

I poke fun at my mom because we are so different, but I’m proud of her for spreading her creative wings.  Just as I am sure she is proud of me when I spread my financially responsible wings and pay my bills on time. (***Side note – I have grown into a financially responsible person – okay well at least I pay my bills on time now)! She is truly my sister’s and my biggest fans of our creativity – if a little bit exploitive and occasionally tries to take credit! I’m waiting on pictures of the food tower and then I will do a big SHOUT OUT to mom for a successful endeavor into the world of crafty! Everyone go hug your mom today – she probably needs it and it will only do your own soul some good!

Happy Hugging!!!

One response »

  1. Usually I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice article.

Leave a Reply

