rain rain go away…

Standard

So it has been raining here for the last two days.  While Wyoming is known for a lot of things rain isn’t usually one of them.  So I have been on a kind of baking rampage for the last two days.  I had some extra buttermilk lying around from my Italian Cream Cake Birthday Cake (I know…it isn’t on the blog, but it wasn’t quite up to standard) so I decided to whip up a batch of Chocolate Coconut Buttermilk Cupcakes.  Doesn’t the name sound impressive?

I have a baking philosophy.  Find a few really good, really simple recipes and exploit them.  I’m not above a boxed cake mix and in fact that’s what I use most of the time.  I’m not a recipe snob like some people who have delicious recipes, but can’t share them because it’s a family secret! I want woman to start baking again.  Do any of you find yourselves to be one of a rare few who actually bake something for your kids to take to school? Or even to a bake sale?! I don’t know how many woman say things like…”that is so delicious, but I would never be able to make it.” Yes, you can! It has five ingredients and three utensils to use.  Anyway, this brings me to my impressive sounding cupcakes.

These are scrumptious little pieces of heaven and all it is is following the directions on a box cake mix, substitute a cup of buttermilk for a cup of water, shake some coconut in the batter and mix.  Frost with your very favorite canned icing and shake shake shake a sprinkle or two on.  Ladies, we have to stop buying cupcakes in the store.  There are too many easy easy recipes out there to make us all look like we slaved in the kitchen for hours.  Do something simple and put a fancy name on it.  Make those other moms jealous with your new-found talents.  Not to mention…nothing makes a kid happier than to say “my mom made those”!

Off I go to drop these little beauties off at my husbands lumber store.  I think his employees deserve a little chocolate love today!

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

